Author Topic: MIST fpga  (Read 1926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Playaveli

  • 'Sherlock'
  • Administrator
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8258
  • Gender: Male
  • "SWOS - A way of life" (J.R.)
    • Visit me on Facebook
MIST fpga
« on: 16 May 2017, 12:05:16 »
What is it?
The MIST board uses modern hardware to implement classic 16 Bits computers like Amiga AGA, Atari ST(e), and 8 Bits systems like C64, ZX-Spectrum, MSX, Atari XL/VCS, Apple II, Colecovision, Sega Master System, NES, etc.
The MIST board isn't an emulation, it's a re-implementation of the original hardware in a FPGA.



What does it mean? MIST fpga?
MIST = aMIga + atari ST   -->  MI +ST
fpga = field-programmable gate array

Which Amiga system is supported?
Minimig Core for Amiga support OCS/ECS and AGA chipsets. Kickstart ROMs 1.2, 1.3, 2.0, 3.1 are also supported, and you will be able to load floppy disk images (ADF) and hard disk images (HDF) from the root directory or from subfolders of your SD card.

Do I need an Amiga monitor?
No, you can use any VGA monitor (CRT/LCD/TFT), or use a VGA-Scart/hdmi Adapter for your TV!

Can I play SWOS on it?  ;D
Yes, you can! Like on an original A1200! You can use original 9pin or USB joysticks!

Mouse/keyboard?
USB devices!

Power supply?
Normal mobile phone charger is enough to run that thing!  8)

Where to buy it?
https://www.dragonbox.de/de/285-mist-fpga-fpga-4260416650916.html  (DE)
http://lotharek.pl/products.php?kid=17 (PL, original manufacturer)
http://amigastore.eu/en/358-mist-midi-fpga-computer-with-midi-add-on.html (ESP)

Is it difficult to setup?
No, if you are considering to buy one, everything is ready for you.
You only need an SD card, to copy the files on!

Video Intros:
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Pu8-tKd-CZM" target="_blank" class="new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Pu8-tKd-CZM</a> <a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/CVq_jzj_u8U" target="_blank" class="new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/CVq_jzj_u8U</a> <a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/FM6C774sf9Q" target="_blank" class="new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/FM6C774sf9Q</a>


DISCORD: https://discord.gg/gv45fDv
« Last Edit: 30 November 2017, 15:59:17 by Playaveli »

For those about to SWOS - We salute you
http://www.facebook.com/playaveli.swos

Offline St.Vitus

  • Kreismeister
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1253
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #1 on: 16 May 2017, 13:29:13 »
Thx Playa for all your testing, and the Youtube vids. Nice to see that there's now a way to play Amiga SWOS on and with modern Hardware incl. additional features (USB pads, VGA Monitors).

Playing SWOS on MIST really feels like playing on AMIGA - not comparable playing SWOS in Emulator.

Also the MIST is much smaller - good for transportation affairs.

and hard disk images (HDF) from the root directory or from subfolders of your SD card.

Note that you can run only one hard disk image when using AGA Core. Multiple Images like in WinUAE are not (yet) supported. When you change your HDF file you have to reboot your MIST, but that's no big deal.

Offline Playaveli

  • 'Sherlock'
  • Administrator
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8258
  • Gender: Male
  • "SWOS - A way of life" (J.R.)
    • Visit me on Facebook
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #2 on: 02 July 2017, 18:58:40 »
Yesterday, we played the first "MIST event"... St. Vitus' cup in Bielefeld:
http://sensiblesoccer.de/community/tournaments/view/4462

Reactions on the MIST were all the way positive, no difference noticed to the real Amiga.
I only remember bomb saying sth like "the MIST is even MORE responsive than the Amiga..." ;D

Anyway, we had one breakdown (which was either caused by some strange old extension cables, or the electricity cable being moved, not sure). After that, we couldn't reload the DIY group, file damaged. Error displayed ("FILE CREATED WITH OTHER VERSION OF S.W.O.S.").
After that, we rechecked the issue but found out that saving-loading just works fine.
Just tested it again, at home (100% working).


For those about to SWOS - We salute you
http://www.facebook.com/playaveli.swos

Offline Playaveli

  • 'Sherlock'
  • Administrator
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8258
  • Gender: Male
  • "SWOS - A way of life" (J.R.)
    • Visit me on Facebook
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #3 on: 16 October 2017, 15:34:08 »
One up on eBay, in case anyone is considering to buy one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/142540136012

For those about to SWOS - We salute you
http://www.facebook.com/playaveli.swos

Offline Playaveli

  • 'Sherlock'
  • Administrator
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8258
  • Gender: Male
  • "SWOS - A way of life" (J.R.)
    • Visit me on Facebook
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #4 on: 12 May 2018, 05:24:25 »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VFespp1adI0" target="_blank" class="new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VFespp1adI0</a>
« Last Edit: 12 May 2018, 07:42:05 by Playaveli »

For those about to SWOS - We salute you
http://www.facebook.com/playaveli.swos

Offline HairFU

  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
  • Gender: Male
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #5 on: 12 May 2018, 09:28:25 »
It was said that MistFPGA feels like real Amiga. When I was on Bombs offline tournament in January (Berlin Open - BAAH3), we also make 2nd Chance Group on MistFPGA. A few players have refused to play on the Mist, after reporting that they don't feel very comfortable on it and preffer to play on real Amiga. I was suprised, after all readings about the realness of the Amiga feeling. For me it was ok to play on the Mist, but I really can understand what was not 100% real feeling.
So, is there some settings you could make wrong, when it comes to setting up an Amiga 1200 on MistFPGA (in this order, it could feel wrong if you are used to play on original Amiga Hardware) or is it just "plug and play" (after you have choose right core , chipset and so on for Amiga 1200)?

Offline Playaveli

  • 'Sherlock'
  • Administrator
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8258
  • Gender: Male
  • "SWOS - A way of life" (J.R.)
    • Visit me on Facebook
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #6 on: 12 May 2018, 19:21:41 »
Sure, it is plug and play after first setting. You don’t have to do it all over again. In the Video it is mentioned (save config to default).

About the feeling, I think this is mostly figment of imagination.
Do a Test:
Hide the Mist and the Amiga underneath the table (so they cannot see it) and let people randomly play on it.
They couldn’t tell them apart from gameplay feeling.

For those about to SWOS - We salute you
http://www.facebook.com/playaveli.swos

Offline romanista

  • Ajacied
  • PRO
  • **
  • Posts: 126
  • Gender: Male
  • Sensi since may 13, 1992
    • Sensidays 2016
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #7 on: 01 June 2018, 12:33:20 »
Ah .. maybe can do our own 'pepsi-test' this way at the dayz...
Organiser of the first Dutch Swos cup 2006 & co-organiser Sensi-days 2016




Offline djowger

  • Goalscoring superstar hero!
  • Management
  • SWOS Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1274
  • Gender: Male
  • SWOS - The gameplay that never gets old.
Re: MIST fpga
« Reply #8 on: 01 June 2018, 13:11:49 »
I think it is mostly placebo due to the CRT pc monitors instead of the tvs/commodore monitors. I actually prefer these flat monitors, and still use these for online matches as an extra monitor. I tested the mist in Budapest and thought it worked fine. Also went into monitor settings to see actual hz running which was 50. But it was only a quick test. I don't have a mist so I can't test it for a longer period, but you guys are welcome to bring one at days for testing and to play friendlies.
« Last Edit: 01 June 2018, 13:14:26 by djowger »