sensible soccer database history (more or less)

• ballesterer
  • ballesterer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
10 years 7 months ago #120205 by ballesterer
hi!

i am a writer for the austrian football magazine ballesterer (see ballesterer.at), and currently writing on an article about football video games. and by football i mean soccer, of course. the point at which sensible soccer comes into play is the data. today fifa games and the like gather data through freelancers, statistics and agents around the world, which means, of course, the internet. how did the makers of sensible soccer manage to get such a huge database of existing players from literally every country in the world in 199x, when the world wide web was nothing like it is today? and second: how much effort is made in keeping the names up to date by the people who play and love sensible soccer today?
i hope some of you can answer these questions.
and i apologize for starting a new thread. i am in quite a hurry, so i couldn t thoroughly search the forum for similar ones.

thank you very much

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 7 months ago #120207 by Rock and Roll
Hi.

I can t answer your first question, but someone else here might be able to. That or you could try to contact Jon Hare who programmed the game.

The second is easy...a lot. We have a major team/player update each and every season thanks to Synchronated and many others. We ve also updated all countries of the world to recreate the South Africa 2010 World Cup (with all qualifying matches) and there s an update in progress for the 2014 World Cup. There are different ways of finding information to update the teams, the internet, help from other football games and of course...watching football.

You don t have to apologize by the way. Good luck with your article!

More
10 years 7 months ago - 10 years 7 months ago #120208 by Playaveli
(auch auf Deutsch möglich, wenn das besser ist?!)